RSS Feed

Lesson learned: Never Dislike Someone Too Much

Since I was in my 13 or 14, when I said I dislike something or someone, older people would tell me not to dislike something or someone too much.

“Just don’t.”

They said I might ended up having my life stuck with the thing I dislike.

I think it’s ridiculous because hey I dislike it so there’s no chance I could get too near to it, right?

When I entered senior high school, I realized that even though I’m a chinese, I don’t like chinese guys. I prefer ‘pribumi’ or a native Indonesian. It’s difficult for me to explain why, but probably because I like guys with darker skin color and bigger eyes (than mine)?

(Disclaimer: Β If this post seems like it’s getting racist, trust me, it doesn’t meant to be that way)

 

Anyway, that kinda explains how I had several pribumi ex-boyfriends from different ethnic group.

I never had a chinese boyfriend even though some chinese guys wooed me. Because no matter how I thought they’re cute or funny or I actually kinda liked them, I couldn’t bring myself to like them enough to be their girlfriend.

But there is always a first time of everything, right? (Okay, maybe not EVERYthing though. Not for eating cockroach satay at Thailand, for example πŸ˜€ )

 

So I met someone whom I initially regarded as another ordinary chinese guy who had a crush on me.

He almost lost me at a lot of things. The way he disappeared to the toilet without informing me when we went out on a date, his neklace, his shoes (later he told me, they were his FAVORITE shoes hahaha :D), his look (LOL!), the way he talked and probably almost everything because I just didn’t like chinese guy.

Especially the one that looks like a Hongkong’s triad/gangster member:

"I-Wanna-Kill-You" look

“I-Might-Kill-You” look

 

I just couldn’t hold myself from telling my cousins how screwed up the date went. My cousin laughed at me when I firmly said, “This guy totally lost me at almost everything. There won’t be another date between me and him.”

Yea, right. πŸ˜€

 

But after 6 months of chatting via Yahoo! Messenger and several dates (Yes, there was a second date. And no, I don’t remember why πŸ˜€ ),

I realized that he isΒ not that ordinary.

 

And after almost a year of persistently wooing me, he finally won my heart. No matter how I used to think that the idea of being in love with this guy is ridiculous, somehow he managed to convince me that it’s not.

 

It actually turns out to be one of the best thing that ever happened to meΒ πŸ™‚

 

Honestly, now I still think that pribumi guys are hotter than chinese guys. But from all of them, the hottest guy is still this guy sitting beside me. (uh well, this is a very subjective statement, I admit. Lol. πŸ˜€ )

Β 
625578_10201693701656033_603565146_n

 

And of course, he made me believe what people told me;

“Never dislike someone or something too much. You might ended up having your life stuck with the thing you dislike.”

 

Well… I don’t regret how I initially dislike you, though. Because look at me now,

 

I’m happily stuck on you.

 

πŸ™‚

 

P.S. : Celebrating my 3 years of being his girlfriend. What a record! I never date someone this long before! How come I’m not even getting bored with him yet?? Lol πŸ˜€

About Godeliva Olivia

loves reading, sweet iced tea, and good laugh.

Leave a Reply

