RSS Feed

A Man Named Huat Tanto

..suddenly, I miss my pop.

I started to wonder what it is like, to have a father near me in my adolescent age. Would he be fierce towards his daughters’ boyfriends? Would he scold me when I came home late at night? Would he drive me to my friend’s sweet seventeen party?

My pop passed away when I was 13 years old.

He was a very nice and friendly man. Though he looked kinda stern and my friends are usually feel reluctant to joke with him. He was an architect, he can draw like an artist, good at math, able to fix most of electronic things (television, washing machine, radio, you name it), a good singer, an idealist man and he was actually very humorous.

A superman šŸ™‚

I wish he was there, on my graduation day. Watching me proudly from his VIP seat.

I wish he was there, when I started dating for the first time. Waiting for me to come home after a date.

I wish he was there, when I got my first job as a secretary. Telling his friends proudly that his daughter got her first job.

But probably, he was actually there šŸ™‚

I just didn’t realize it.

 

I can’t tell you how much I wish he could be there on my wedding day (no, it’s not something that is coming soon, fyi). Even though he won’t be able to hold my hand and walk me down the aisle. But I hope he’s going to watch me and my hubby-gonna-be with a smile on his face.

If you are going to be there pop, I want to tell you….

..stay invisible.

If you don’t, you might scare my guests off :p

Seriously, I hope he’ll be there. Not only on my wedding day, but also when I give birth to my child. When my child graduates. When I celebrate my 50th birthday. When I finally close my eyes for the last time.

at that time, I hope he’ll wait for me, with his gorgeous smile and his warm hug.

 

well, I guess I have to say, ‘see you later, pop’ šŸ™‚

About Godeliva Olivia

loves reading, sweet iced tea, and good laugh.

Leave a Reply

